CureZone
Old Format -> CureZone.INFO
Autism & Mold
Forum: Ask Microbe Detectives

• Autism & Mold   rabbitears   7y
    This is my avatar. Click here to see my profile.
    rabbitears
    Autism & Mold
    PM     email
    Date: 9/28/2007 4:18:42 PM   ( 7y ago )
    Hits:   6101   Size: 4427 char.   Already alerted!   Already alerted!

http://www.neighborhoodsforqualityhomes.org/haynes_mold.html

This is where the Autism/mold connection occurs. I’m not a doctor, and I can’t explain this as well as the experts. This is the article that helped me understand (note the reference to mold!): THE ARTICLE The Candida Yeast-Autism Connection by Stephen M. Edelson, Ph.D., Center for the Study of Autism, Salem, Oregon. There is a great deal of evidence that a form of yeast, candida (rhymes with "Canada") albicans, may cause autism and may exacerbate many behavior and health problems in autistic individuals, especially those with late-onset autism. Scenario. Candida albicans belongs to the yeast family and is a single-cell fungus. This form of yeast is located in various parts of the body including the digestive tract. Generally speaking, benign microbes limit the amount of yeast in the intestinal tract, and thus, keep the yeast under control. However, exposure to antibiotics, especially repeated exposure, can destroy these microbes. This can result in an overgrowth of candida albicans. When the yeast multiplies, it releases toxins in the body; and these toxins are known to impair the central nervous system and the immune system. Some of the behavior problems which have been linked to an overgrowth of candida albicans include: confusion, hyperactivity, short attention span, lethargy, irritability, and aggression. Health problems can include: headaches, stomachaches, constipation, gas pains, fatigue, and depression. These problems are often worse during damp and/or muggy days and in moldy places. Additionally, exposure to perfumes and insecticides can worsen the condition.